American Neurological Association (ANA)

  • Home

The Grass Foundation-ANA Award in Neuroscience was established in 2007 to recognize outstanding young physician-scientists conducting research in basic or clinical neuroscience. The award is given at the annual ANA meeting in the Fall.

Dr. Yvette Wong is the 2023 winner of the Grass Foundation-ANA Award in Neuroscience. Dr. Wong is an Assistant Professor in Neurology at Northwestern University’s Feinberg School of Medicine. Her research lab uses super-resolution live cell microscopy to investigate the roles of inter-organelle contact sites and novel organelle dynamics in neurodegenerative diseases. She obtained her BA in Biology & Mathematics from Cornell University. Her PhD in Neuroscience is from University of Pennsylvania, and she conducted postdoctoral research at Northwestern University. For her research on organelle dynamics, Dr. Wong has also received the NIH K99/R00 Pathway to Independence Award from NINDS, the Warren Alpert Distinguished Scholars Award, and the DP2 NIH Director’s New Innovator Award.

Previous winners of the Award have included:

2022 Derek Narendra, National Institutes of Health

2021 Alberto Serrano-Pozo, Massachusetts General Hospital

2020 Eoin Paul Flanagan, Mayo Clinic

2019 Ethan Goldberg, University of Pennsylvania and Children’s Hospital of Pennsylvania

2018 Michael Wilson, University of California, San Francisco

2017 Clotilde Lagier-Tourenne, Massachusetts General Hospital

2016 Aasef Shaikh, Case Western Reserve University

2015 Dena Dubal, University of California, San Francisco

2014 Joshua Shulman, Baylor College of Medicine

2013 Andrew McKeon, Mayo Clinic

2012 Sydney Cash, Massachusetts General Hospital

2007 Jack Parent, University of Michigan

The American Neurological Association, founded in 1875, is a professional society of academic neurologists and neuroscientists devoted to advancing the goals of academic neurology; to training and educating neurologists and other physicians in the neurologic sciences; and to expanding both our understanding of diseases of the nervous system and our ability to treat them.